Rediscovering Sugbu

I hold mix feelings for the Queen City of the South.
la marea’s warm brownie cup best shared with friends. photo by E.


I only lived there for nine months at which time I was employed in my first two jobs. They were thankless and rather depressing ones. Mine was a typical story of a Filipina fresh graduate starting out with stars in her eyes, all excited for that glamorous position then finding herself submitting resumes online to obscure companies and encircling newspaper ads in the midst of self loathing. I considered some friends lucky as they forged their paths through med school and law. How could they know so early in life what they were born to do? What was I to do? I also had the feeling that while I had pretty good credentials, employers were looking for family names that would ring a bell. I may have at some point resentfully considered Cebu as a Prostitute of the South instead of a Queen.

That move was a disaster careerwise. Before my Cebuano friends raise their eyebrows, I will redeem myself by saying that my memories of the place do not effect resentment. The irony of it is that other aspects of my life flourished there and I learned so much in a span of nine months.

 

graffiti as part of an Ayala Malls exhibit circa 2009. photo stolen from E

Okay maybe just a few but they were immensely valuable.

1. You will find gems among people even in the most unlikely places. By unlikely places I mean the posh office building you dread going to because that headset on your table is beginning to resemble a noose.

2. If you want something so much you will find a way to get it /love conquers  distance/ buses and ferries are the best inventions on earth! Cebu was where my love life blossomed in the frequent ferry rides to and from the next island, Negros Oriental (Dumaguete City holds another set of stories and misadventures).

3. Always dream big and not waste time on a crummy job. Or if at the moment you can’t get out of a crummy job, that you should never stop dreaming and drafting your plans because better things will surely come.

photo of Argao beach also stolen from E

When I revisit Cebu, students will be finishing the last of their exams, many giddy in expectation of the summer season. I am beyond thrilled to experience summer in the city! Here are some things I would love to do:

1. Visit/re-visit places that hold significant historical and cultural value (with the help of these two blogs: langyaw and Cebu Heritage).

2. Food trip curated by E. By the way, I’d still like to go to Larsians and have that barbecue smell on my hair.

3. Trivia night?

4. Visit Cebuano artists. Time to meet some inspiring people!

5. Beach trip with a gorgeous boy. Same guy as No. 3. Haha.

This trip is about counting my blessings: an exciting love life, fantastic friends and experiencing Cebu in a whole new way.

Until then, I look forward to seeing the Queen City of the South.

2 thoughts on “Rediscovering Sugbu

  1. “I considered some friends lucky as they forged their paths through med school and law. How could they know so early in life what they were born to do? What was I to do? I also had the feeling that while I had pretty good credentials, employers were looking for family names that would ring a bell.”

    OMG, yen! apir! haha. mkahilak kog bato ani.

Leave a Reply

