The Unconventional Trip Prep

DSC06941

Guidelines

If there’s one thing I learned about travelling, it’s the value of creating guidelines. I only realized it this year after having traveled here and there for ten years. Better late than never! I figured this out while thinking of my upcoming trip and reflecting on what I did two years ago. These reminders are not hard and fast rules. They simply exist to guide me in the journey based on what I want to get from it and how I want to feel. We all probably have something like this in our heads. This is the first time I am consciously making the effort to create them.

  1. Have fun! 

    Even when things don’t go according to plan.

  2. Write at least 1 entry (at least 5 lines) every day.

    Reading my past journals have served me well over the years  that this is a no-brainer. I just have to get my lazy tourist ass to do it.

  3. Wake up early and get some quiet time

    Crucial stuff if I want to get some writing time and great shots before everybody wakes up to photobomb my pics.

  4. Engage

    With locals as much as possible!

  5. Exercise.

    Coz #abs. Coz #croppedtop. Coz #bikini.

  6. Be brave

    I always have to remind myself of this.

 

DSC06826

Practicalities

Aside from making sure  I have something to wear, I try to ensure that I have done the following to make my trip comfortable, convenient and memorable:

  1. Unlock phone, research local sim and instructions on how to call, apps
  2. Prep Camera- batteries, storage space, photo list
  3. Learn the Language – esp basic phrases via  Youtube, Duolingo and Memrise
  4. Familiarize Self with  Transit – trains and buses

DSC06960

Literature

I research writers of the country I’m visiting and download their works for me to read on the plane. Last time, I was able to borrow some books about Venice but I think they were not so good. My plan is to download a few short stories because as you may have observed, I am a lazy reader.

Music

To immerse myself in the language, I add songs from the country I am visiting. The more genres I have the better. You never know when you’ll feel like having a concert in the shower or when you’ll be in need of a slow jam for long train rides perfect for thinking about exes, boyfriends and whatnot.

Aside from that, I always have my staple playlist that I will listen to wherever I am. My non-FIlipino songs include those by Yuna, Mariah Carey, Sara Bareilles, BTS, 2NE1, Tofubeats, various artists of Reply 1988 OST and Rurouni Kenshin OST. Just so you know, I have a lot of OPM and KPOP songs on mine. My OPM list will have Eraserheads, Zia Quizon, True Faith and 80s/90s songs. Which reminds me, I need new OPM songs. Any suggestions?

Scent

Scents and smells increase the memory of an experience. During my last trip to Italy, I chose a solid perfume in Rose scent from L’Occitane. For next time,  I will opt for a lotion and body mist. The lotion so that the scent lasts and body mist for quick application.

Ang that’s how I’d plan my trip, IDEALLY.

 

One thought on “The Unconventional Trip Prep

Leave a Reply

